Our Board

Huon Regional Care is fortunate to have a highly skilled Board of Directors overseeing governance for the organisation. The Board currently comprises nine Non-Executive Directors bringing a diverse range of experience and knowledge from local community members, health care professionals, finance and risk specialists and governance experts.

Robert Dick


Robert is currently the State President of RSL Tasmania and is a member of the RSL National Board of Directors. He was Deputy National President, RSL Australia in 2016 and the National President RSL Australia Sept 2016 to Jul 2018.

Robert spent four years on the Board of Huon Valley Financial Services and the Huon Business Enterprise Centre Board, with two of these as its Chairman. Robert was a member of the Huon Valley Health Advisory Committee, and served four years both on, and chair of, the Huonville Township Development Committee for Huon Valley Council. Robert also served on and acted as Deputy Chair of the Huon Valley Disability Access Advisory Committee for three years.

Robert is currently studying Administrative Law and has recently participated in governance training courses covering the subjects of Governance for Directors, Finance for Directors and Strategy and Risk Management, all conducted by the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Robert is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and is also a member of the Institute of Community Directors Australia.

Robert joined the Huon Regional Care Board in 2016 and sits on the Clinical Governance Committee.

Frank Barta

Deputy Chair

Frank was appointed to the Huon Regional Care Board in August 2019 and chairs the Finance, Audit and Risk Committee. He is currently a board member of the Tasmanian Community Fund, non-executive director of Southern Waste Solutions, and sits as an independent member on Hobart City Council’s Audit and Risk Panel. He also provides consultancy advice to Local Government. He was a non-executive director of Tasplan Superannuation until November 2019 and a non-executive director of Quadrant Superannuation prior to its merger with Tasplan. Frank was the chief financial officer of Clarence City Council for 25 years until November 2018.

Frank has worked on a range of professional committees and voluntary boards.

Natasha Whish-Wilson

Company Secretary

Natasha is the Chief Risk Officer for B&E Ltd, trading as Bank of us, Tasmania’s only customer owned bank. She is responsible for the Compliance & Risk Management functions for the company. Natasha has more than 20 years’ experience in banking and financial services and has held several Executive and Senior Management roles.

Prior to this, Natasha was employed as a Police Officer at Tasmania Police and has extensive experience in the Forensic and Criminal Investigation fields.

Natasha joined the board in August 2019 and has the role of Company Secretary and serves on the Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee for Huon Regional Care.

Jos Driessen

Non-executive Director

Jos managed a family apple and cherry growing, packing and exporting business for twenty years.

Previous to that, Jos was Chairman of the Tasmanian Fruit Growers Association, and was also on the National Board of Apple and Pear Australia Ltd.

A dedicated community member, Jos has been the Chairman of the School Board of Sacred Heart, Geeveston and was involved on the committee of Riding for the Disabled, Kingborough.

Jos joined the Board in 2009, he currently serves on the Clinical Governance Committee.

David Hay

Non-executive Director

David has been involved in the Far South Tasmania community for many years.

He is the Secretary/Treasurer of the Far South Community Association Inc., the Dover RSL and Ex-Servicemen’s Club Inc., the Esperance Masonic Lodge as well as the Secretary of David and Jonathon Tasmanian Conclave.

David joined the Huon Regional Care board in 2014 and currently sits on the Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee.

Joanne Sabena

Non-executive Director

Meghraj Thakkar

Non-executive Director

Megh has over 25 years’ experience working for clients in numerous industries including healthcare, telecommunications, banking, financial services, insurance, transport, software, education, aviation, media and government. Companies consulted by Megh include the ATO, Telstra, Jetstar, Medibank, ANZ, Linfox, Queensland Health, Coles Myer and Toyota.

Megh has worked all over the world and has a portfolio career including as a Board Director, Executive Technical Advisor, Gateway Reviewer, Consultant, Author and Speaker.

Megh joined the Board in August 2019.

Paula Wriedt

Non-executive Director

Paula has a broad range of experience that has included thirteen years in the Tasmanian State Parliament. After being elected to the House of Assembly in February 1996 at the age of 27, Paula was appointed Minister for Education in the Bacon Labor Government, 2 1/2 years later in August 1998, the youngest female appointed to a Ministry in Tasmania. As well as holding the Education portfolio for two terms, during her ten-year Ministerial career, Paula also held a range of other portfolios including Economic Development, Tourism, the Arts and Environment, Parks, Heritage and Aboriginal Heritage, Women and Youth. After leaving politics in January 2009, Paula became a carer for her elderly parents. Since 2010 Paula has been the Executive Officer for Cystic Fibrosis Tasmania and was elected to the Kingborough Council in 2011, holding the position of Deputy Mayor from 2014 until 2018.

As a former National Ambassador for Beyond Blue, Paula is passionate about mental health issues and regularly speaks about her own experiences with depression. She is currently completing her Masters of Business Administration (MBA) at the University of Tasmania.